Marketing assets

Kansas Athletics host Rock Chalk Choice Awards – Kansas Jayhawks

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Student-athletes from the Kansas Athletics programs were able to walk the red carpet and celebrate the 2021-22 athletic year on Sunday night at the Rock Chalk Choice Awards, which took place at the Lied Center on the KU campus.

The program included the student-athletes announcing the awards, special 9/11 recognition, and a presentation from former Kansas track and field teammates Denesha McCuin and Andrea Norris on the 50th anniversary of Title IX. Additionally, sophomore athletic director Travis Goff addressed the crowd.

“What a great night, ‘Hawks. The momentum is very real and we’re so excited for what lies ahead in 2022-23 and beyond. It’s definitely a night to celebrate the past year, but it’s also a night of looking ahead. Our ambition is high and the things we want to achieve ahead of us, I don’t know if they can be measured. We believe in each of you individually and in the trajectory of all of our programs to KU.

Athletic Director Travis Goff

Throughout the night, four nominees for “Rock Chalk Moment of the Year” were presented to the audience, who would then vote for the winner, which was announced at the end of the show.

The nominees were:

  • Sasha McMillin crowns her historic KU career as a member of the women’s track and field team
  • Soccer victory over Texas in Austin following a brave two-point overtime conversion play call
  • Volleyball’s race to the Sweet 16 with wins over two nationally ranked opponents
  • Men’s basketball winning sixth national championship in program history

The winners of the evening included:

The Jayhawker Award – Avery Smith, football
Team GPA Award – Women’s Golf
Del Shankel Teaching Award – Dr. Danielle Hemingson
Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role – Mac Copeland, Football
Crimson Climb Award – Angela Price, softball
True Blue Award – Earl Bostick, Soccer
Women’s Sports Program Athlete of the Year – Sasha McMillin, Athletics
Men’s Sports Program Athlete of the Year – Ochai Agbaji, Basketball
Rock Chalk Moment of the Year – Men’s Basketball Winning the NCAA National Championship